Carved in Stone – dmp Big Band

Posted on 29 July 2020



  1. Take The A Train (3:18) – Written by Billy Strayhorn
  2. Satin Doll (3:50) – Written by Duke Ellington, Lyrics by Billy Strayhorn and Johnny Mercer
  3. Volga Boatman: (3:20) – Russian Folk Song Arranged by Bill Finnegan
  4. Cute: (2:34) – Written by Neal Hefti, Updated by Alan Foust
  5. Shinny Stockings (4:59) – Written by Frank Foster, Re-orchestration by Alan Foust
  6. Li’l Darlin (5:51) – Written by Neal Hefti
  7. Intermission Riff (4:27) – Written by Ray Wetzel and Michael Goldsen
  8. Malaguena (4:31) – Written by Ernesto Lecuona, Arranged by Bill Holman
  9. Opus One (2:49) – Written by Sy Oliver
  10. Four Brothers (3:34) – Written by Jimmy Giuffre
  11. Early Autumn (3:55) – Written by Ralph Burns
  12. April in Paris (4:05) – Written by Vernon Duke and E.Y. Harburg, Arranged by Wild Bill Davis

Recording Dates: April 7, 8 and 9, 1955

Total Time: 47:12

Label: DMP



Dave Glasser, Patience Higgins, Ted Nash, Gary Smulyan, Steve Wilson, Scott Robinson


Lew Soloff, Bob Millikan, Rich Kelly, Tony Kadleck, Larry Lunetta


Luis Bonilla, Keith O’Quinn, Jim Pugh, Dave Taylor, Larry Farrell

Piano: Geoff Keezer

Bass: Lynn Seaton

Drums: John Riley

Guitar: James Chrillo

Rating: 9 stars out of 10

This CD is every big band aficionado’s dream recording – classic jazz tunes, excellent musicians and superb soloists. First, the classic songs which were taken from the Duke Ellington folder (Take The A Train and Satin Doll), next from the Count Basie book (Cute, Shiny Stockings, Li’l Darlin and April in Paris), then to the Stan Kenton Library (Intermission Riff and Malaguena), back to Woody Herman’s second herd (Four Brothers and Early Autumn) and finally to the swing bands of Glenn Miller (Volga Boatman) and Tommy Dorsey (Opus One). Second, the great musicians such as Bob Millikan, a great lead trumpet player for many years in the New York music scene. Third, the superb soloists which is a perfect categorization of the late, great Lew Soloff. Lew was not only a great jazz player, but was also known as a fantastic “legitimate” (classical) player. The band is extremely tight with cohesive ensemble playing especially on Song of the Volga Boatman, Shiny Stockings, Intermission Riff and Four  Brothers. Pyrotechnics abound on the challenging and exciting Bill Holman arrangement of Malaguena which was one of the most spectacular Stan Kenton charts. Every CD needs some lighter swinging numbers to lower the blood pressure and this was accomplished with Neal Hefti’s Cute and Li’l Darlin. The super swinging numbers will get you back up on your feet and dancing as you listen to Take The A Train, Satin Doll, Opus One and April in Paris. Even the sound of recording is great. So if you enjoy swingin’ and exciting big band jazz go out and get this CD to add another great one to your collection.             

This post was written by:

- who has written 11 posts on Write On New Jersey.

Contact the author

Leave a Reply

Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

RSSLoading Feed...

Live Traffic Feed

RSSLoading Feed...